DECEMBER 21 2007 17:15h

Modric HNL’s Footballer Of The Year


In a selection carried out on football captains, Luka Modric was elected best football player of this season.

Player of Dinamo Zagreb Luka Modric was elected best football player of the year in the selection of football captains. 

This traditional poll is carried out among all the captains of 1st HNL clubs. The selection is made on the total of all votes. Every team captain selected 5 players he thought to have shown the most during this season, and the best one was assigned 10 points.

Before Modric this title was assigned to: Niko Kranjcar, Tomislav Erceg and twice in a row to Eduardo da Silva.

Dalmatian Luka Modric was satisfied with the award, although the day before, as captain, failed to lead the blues into the European spring. Dinamo Zagreb drew 1-1 against hosting Rennes, thus loosing all chances to continue their European journey.

‘I will leave with beautiful memories’ 

- All things considered we can be satisfied with the European season, although we are bittern by the fact we could have done more. Unfortunately, we did not grab our chances, but this is a big lesson for the future and hereafter Dinamo could achieve great results. In my opinion we mostly lacked concentration in the finals and just for this reason we did not sign better results.

Luka Modric confirmed that this was most likely his last match in the blue colours. However he stated that he will leave full of beautiful memories.

- This has probably been my last match for Dinamo, but you never know. The transition time is long, and we will see how everything will end up. If we receive an offer that will satisfy both me and the club, I will probably  leave. If I do, I will leave with beautiful memories especiall from Amsterdam when we beat Ajax – Modric concluded.

Complete ranking:

1. Luka Modric 108 2. Nikola Kalinic 78 3. Mario Mandzukic 64 4. Krunoslav Lovrek 38 5. Ognjen Vukojevic 20 6. Radomir Djalovic 10 7. Sammir 8 8. Marin Skender 6, Florin Cernat 6, Mirko Hrgovic 6, 11. Zelimir Terkes 4, Mato Jajalo, 4 Anas Sharbini 4 14. Dragan Zupan 2, Edin Saranovic 2, Zeljko Sopic 2, Danijel Subasic 2, Davor Bagaric 2, Ivo Smoje 2.